Andrea

BC: What are your fashion inspirations? A: The closest thing I have to a source of fashion inspiration is my sister! I think we have very distinct styles, but we’re both so outlandish with our choices that she’s my go-to person for advice on what to wear, what to pair things with, and what to buy. My sartorial choices are largely my own, but I trust and value her opinion. She encourages me to wear what I want and feel cool and comfortable in, regardless of how other people might perceive me. BC: Do you feel like you express your Asian Americanness through your fashion? A: In terms of traditional Filipino clothing: no, I don’t use pieces from my culture in my day-to-day outfits… Not technically, at least! Loving to get a good deal on things is something that runs in my blood—I come from a tree of people who are bargain hunters, hagglers, and deal-scouters. My grandmother is particularly fond of garage sales and thrift stores, and my sister and I have inherited this affinity. Almost all, if not a good ninety-eight percent, of my closet is comprised of pieces that I’ve found on thriftstore trips. In a way, dressing myself in unique finds at second-hand locations is my funny way of honoring my family while saving money, the environment, and curating a style that is one-of-a-kind and all my own. BC: If not, is there a particular reason why? A: There’s not much of a reason as to why I don’t dress in anything traditionally Filipino, but if I had to say, I guess it’s just because those kinds of garments have never been very accessible to me here in the United States. BC: Lastly, what are some of your favorite general things to do for fun? A: If it wasn’t already given away, I love going thrift shopping; it’s always so rewarding to search the racks overflowing with clothes and end up finding something that you absolutely love. Other than curating a primarily-pink closet of clothes, I enjoy writing, reading, and poetry.

Sara

BC: What are your fashion inspirations? S: I don’t have any specific individuals or styles that my inspiration comes from, but as I’m developing my own style I have tried in some ways to pull off the same looks of being very put together, but in a natural effortless way, that can be seen in a lot of everyday European outfits. BC: Do you feel like you express your Asian Americanness through your fashion? S: I don’t express my asian americanness through the way I dress, I think if anything, the fact that I generally wear more monochrome clothing juxtaposes the traditional Pakistani and South Asian pieces I own. This isn’t something I do consciously, but I hope to branch out more into using different colors in the future. I’m trying to wear different colored pants on hot days, which in some ways resemble traditional shalwar that I grew up wearing. BC: Lastly, what are some of your favorite general things to do for fun? S: For fun and just to unwind i like spending time with my friends and family, going to museums, listening to music, hiking and being in nature, and when possible, exploring new cities and places.

Tony

BC: What are your fashion inspirations? T: My fashion is reflective of my very flamboyant gay twink personality. Therefore, I find myself more drawn to colorful and fun designs such as Moschino. I draw a lot of my inspiration from Nylon Japan and Japanese subcultures. BC: Do you feel like you express your asian americanness through your fashion? T: I definitely feel that my identity as an Asian American manifests through my self-expressive choices in fashion. Growing up, I was surrounded by “ABGs”, asian baby girls, therefore I can see the connection between westernized beauty standards and central asian beauty standards. In terms of my own style, unfortunately, I subconsciously conform and compromise the two beauty standards. However, I also enjoy the duality of being a promiscuous bad bitch and cute trendy Asian “twink.” BC: Lastly what are some of your favorite general things to do for fun? T: I love video games and gay televised content. Although I have the capacity to be a social and outgoing, I find it more cathartic to be at home with a bag of potato chips and gay anime. On another note, attempting to be less dense, I also enjoy philosophical studies and theories. In other words, when I’m not playing video games, I’m staring at the ceiling, contemplating and introspecting. // Photography courtesy of the subjects.

What Are They Wearing  The Young Asian Americans Of The Bay Area On Personal Style   Bob Cut Magazine - 3What Are They Wearing  The Young Asian Americans Of The Bay Area On Personal Style   Bob Cut Magazine - 33What Are They Wearing  The Young Asian Americans Of The Bay Area On Personal Style   Bob Cut Magazine - 66